Home Sports Rohr releases 23 man squad

Rohr releases 23 man squad


Coach Gernot Rohr has named his 23 man squad for this year’s FIFA World Cup competition staging in Russia this month. Captain John Obi Mikel tops the list of the players that will represent Nigeria at the mundial this summer.

Also making the shortlist are Leicester City trio of Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa.

While Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi, who scored Nigeria’s only goal against England in their friendly encounter also made the list.

Italian based striker Simeon Nwankwo made the cut as he will represent Nigeria in a competition for the first time. Russian based Bryan Idowu also did well to secure a spot in the team, while Turkish based defender Kenneth Omeruo made a return to the team for the first time in about 12 months.

Chelsea defender Ola Aina failed to impress the coaching crew as he didn’t make the team, while Mikel Agu has also been axed from the team before the final lap of the preparations.

Nigeria will face Czech Republic on Wednesday, June 6, in their last test game before finally getting out to Russia few days after. The Super Eagles will battle Argentina, Iceland and Croatia in Group D, while their first group game is on June 16 against Croatia.

Rohr has clearly stated that the big Crotone center-forward has earned his place in the team after a convincing display against the Democratic Republic of Congo in Port Harcourt.

Leave a Reply